The working-mom life is tough!

Good evening!

It’s been a solid, almost, three weeks since I returned to full-time working after being home with my children for 21 months. It has been a real challenge for myself and my family. I thought we’d quicly adapt to this new transition but it’s been extremely overwhelming. Here’s why….

Babygirl Is Missing Mama!

When I returned to working with my son in 2015, he had no separation issues whatsoever. He adapted beautifully, never shed a tear for mommy. My daughter has had a much tougher time adjusting to being away. from me. The first week was accompanied with tears at every drop-off. My daughter is babysat by family. I go to work feeling content that she is in the best hands possible but it’s still distracting and heart-wrenching seeing my baby girl cry out for me. 😪

10 Hours Away From Home Every Day

I underestimated the traffic for this time of year. I work for 8 hours of the day but I’m commuting for 2 hours of the day. My job is in the next town over but after dropping my daughter off at grandma’s and then the excessive traffic is a major bummer. But I do love having the me time while I’m driving. I get to relax, drink my coffee all while dodging some whacko 80-year olds racing to their docotor appointment. My last two employments were very close to home so this extra driving had been a challenge getting the timing right and allowing myself to have the extra time to get to work and find parking but I love the drive. I love being able to think and reflect on the day ahead and speak to the Lord. ♡♡♡

Those are the two main reasons why this transition has been difficult for our family. On the plus side my son is loving the time he gets to spend in the after school care program. I’m not sure how long we will stick to that program because it only allows the children to stay till 6PM. After my training is over I’ll be getting off work at 6PM… School definitely makes it a bit harder for the working parents.

I’m loving my job! Everyone in the department is very friendly. My trainer is very nice and loves her job. I see this position being fairly easy and super fast-paced. I like the jobs that go by quickly, the quicker the shift ends the faster I can drive back home to my babies. ♡♡♡

We’re looking forward to Christmas break next week! I still have much shopping to do. Hopefully I can finish it up this weekend. ☺🤭

Thanks For Reading!

Leave a comment